1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Solo 1000

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by shootman, Apr 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shootman

shootman TS Member

I notice not many shooters on here use solo 1000. I have been using it for about 4 years now in 1oz and 11/8oz. loads in fed hulls and I think it performs really well in warm and cold weather. Just curious is there a down side to it that I am missing. BOB

2. Big Dog Dad

Big Dog Dad Active Member

A lot of folks told me I shouldn't waste my time trying to reload the Wally World Federal steel headed shells. So to be contrary, I tried with 18.5 grains Solo 1000, 1 oz. #8's, Win 209 primer, and the Claybuster sub for Federal 12SO wads. I've only had one blooper in the last two weeks and even though you've got to slam the round home in the chamber because of the steel head, so far, so good. I've always used Solo 1000!

Mike

3. K80433SC

K80433SC Member

Prolly not exaggerating to state that SOLO 1000 is the the exclusive powder that this trapshooting hopeful has tossed his pellets with for about 20 years now.

I think it is a great product. If there is a down-side, I've yet to discover it. Just my humble opinion.........

4. Hitapair

Hitapair Active Member

Downsides:
    Not made in the USA;
    Not perticularly cheap;
    Lack of consistency in weight/density from keg to keg.
    That being said, I've used lots of it and will continue to in 1 oz loads.
    Clean burning and soft shooting.

5. TD1958

TD1958 Member

Hell you just described almost every powder out there!!!!Tim

6. ou.3200

ou.3200 Well-Known Member