1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Skeet Emergency

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Phoebus, Jun 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phoebus

Phoebus Member

Ok I know there's no such thing as a "skeet emergency" and I know this is a trap shooting forum but I thought I would draw on the vast experience that I know is out there.

So here's the situation, I'm a novice skeet shooter +/- 1 year consistant experience on the practice range with scores in the low 90's. Not great but a point to build on. I entered my first competition just for the experience with the idea that I would get more serious about competing next year.

I had a baffling experience. I shot all four gauges and did ok with the 12, scoring 85 which was low but probably in my range for where I am as a shooter, with nerves and all. 20 ga didn't go as well I scored 71 and started consistantly missing low house birds. The next day I thought, well maybe the heat got to me or just got wore out, but when the 28 ga. started the problem was much more pronounced and I was hitting literally 95% of the high houses and about 5 % of the lower houses. The problem persisted through the 410 and I have yet to figure it out or even have a clue what might be going on.

Besides the obvious comments that I just suck, which I freely admit. Anyone ever have this experience where a fundemental breakdown happened that seemed to be directional or obviously biased toward one house?

2. bigbore613

bigbore613 Active Member

Are you left handed ? Jeff

3. billkgun

billkgun Member

Move hold point furthur out from house, no closer than 1/3 of distance from house to middle stake. Lower gun to allow seeing target. Head on gun,eye on target,shoot the @#@$. Bill

4. Phoebus

Phoebus Member