1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Single and double or combo?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by mgfi26, Dec 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mgfi26

mgfi26 TS Member

Hello everyone.

As I am fairly new to trapshooting I'm wondering what opinions are regarding shooting two seperate guns for singles and doubles or shooting a combo gun?

Thanks for the opinions,

mgfi26
    Matt

2. squirrelkiller

squirrelkiller TS Member

As a trapshooter, you should be mindful that the purchasing of a multitude of shotguns is a must. So, start out as expected and buy a safe full of the "right" guns, and then settle on a combo.

3. esoxhunter

esoxhunter Well-Known Member

Matt: I shoot a combo, only because I have a 682 O/U and was fortunate enough to purchase an unsingle for it at a good price. I believe if I were to do it again I would purchase a used Kolar or Perazzi over/under with tubes and an adjustable comb. I would use this gun for everything. Trap, skeet and sporting clays. Someday, I might just do that. I guess it all depends on how much you want to spend and what clay target disciplines you want to shoot. If money is a factor, I would probably look at a BT-99, 682, SKB in a single barrel and buy 391 or an 1100 with tubes so I could shoot doubles, sporting clays etc. What I'm saying is there are a lot of unknown factors that might enter into your decision. Good Luck.. Ed

4. BigDave1200

BigDave1200 Member

If your just starting out and are going to be shooting the occasional doubles and mainly singles trap, I would start with a reasonable quality O/U set up for trap. This way you can shoot both games with the same gun without great expense.

5. 3357

3357 Member