1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Should I Use Different Loads for Doubles?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by ks-trap-shooter, Apr 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ks-trap-shooter

ks-trap-shooter TS Member

I am very new to doubles. The first time I shot them I used 1oz. 1290 fps for both shots. I guess I did ok for my first time. I broke every 1st bird, but dropped a few of the 2nd's. Upon further research, I see where a lot of guys are using different shells for each shot. Can anyone tell me what the advantages are and what size & velocity I should use for each shot. Thank You Very Much.
    Ryan

2. setter

setter Member

1 oz of 8's are fine for doubles. I've broke several 100's with'em. However, I prefer to keep the speed around 1150 fps. Why? Because the 1200 fps plus of 1 oz will kick me more than a light 1 and 1/8 oz load. There is an infamous KS shooter that I usually beat in doubles, SNIPER1969, we shoot a lot of light 8 Estates (1 and 1/8) at doubles. And at everything else. I'll probably get this wrong but the KTA Pres is a fair doubles shooter & I think he uses light 8's on first shot and 3 dram 8's on 2nd. He's young and strong.

3. midalake

midalake Well-Known Member

No need for a 3dram load for either. 1oz 8's first shot 1 1/8- 7 1/2 on second shot........score priceless.

GS

4. BDodd

BDodd TS Member

Many people do and many people do not and each swear by their decision. There is really no need for 3 dram loads for either shot and some of my best scores in the other century were 1 oz of 8s at approx. 1180 fps. No worry which shell went where in the gun that way.....breakemall....Bob Dodd

5. K80433SC

K80433SC Member