1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Shotshell Reloading

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by grand6, Oct 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grand6

grand6 TS Member

Hi Guys:

I am new to Trapshooters.com. I just retired not long ago and want to start reloading shotshells, for Trap only ( Light Loads ) Can anyone recommend the best reloading book for beginners? I haven't purchased any equipment yet, I have plenty of time so I don't think I'll need a progressive reloader, or will I.Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    grand6.

2. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

It is good to learn on a single stage loader and then graduate to a progrssive machine. HMB

3. Gun plumber

Gun plumber TS Member

I have a loading room full of books. But I recently found IMR/Hogdon, and Alliant companies on the web. They post the most current data on their web sites. Get ANY of the new or old lyman shot manuals and read all the loading instructions. Bear in mind NEVER substitute the components in the loading data. This can cause a spike in pressures that can be dangerous.

4. Gun plumber

Gun plumber TS Member

If you check with GunBroker.com under the reloading site. They usually have reloading presses. I prefer the Ponsness Warren model 357 press. I have several and have been using one press for over 30 yrs. You can't wear them out. If you are only loading one gauge a Lee or MEC will work very well. If you buy the press on GunBroker be sure the press has ALL the parts.

5. ec90t

ec90t Guest

grand6,

Now that you're hooked deep into this shooting game. A few suggestions that I'd recommend: