Trapshooters Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Shotgun shell challenged?

4K views 24 replies 22 participants last post by  BigM-Perazzi 
#1 ·
Has anyone ever had their shotgun shell challenged at an ATA shoot because it was thought to be illegal under the ATA rules? JOND

#3 ·
Forrest, I think he is just asking a question. JOND, I've been shooting registered since 1969 and I've never been aware that someone had a shell challenged. I did hear once that a shooter in a shootoff, at the Grand in Vandalia, was caught using reloads in the shootoff. Break 'em all! Tom Ruble

#4 ·
I suspect this is a little like challenging a engine in a race car at the local short track. If you finish outside the money you can run anything and no one cares. If you can consistently win, you are usually good enough not to need to cheat.
I suspect the trap winners could shoot most anything and do very well.

#8 ·
ricks, reloads can be used in all of our registered ATA matches.

I've shot registered since 72 and have only seen/heard of a shell being challenged twice. It was back in the old ATA concept ruling. One was thought to be using more than allowable shot charge and the other larger than allowed shot size. Both were thought to be ongoing potential violators.

#11 ·
RE: Reloads are allowed at the Grand if I'm not mistaken

If I'm not mistaken, It's only in the past few years that reloads have been allowed at the Grand.

A few years back if I remember correctly, a few shooters were caught using factory shells that exceeded limits. Newer shooters and not aware...

Except for one skeet shoot, never heard of shells being challenged.

#13 ·