1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Shot velocity

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by singleshot54, Nov 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. singleshot54

singleshot54 TS Member

I have been shooting trap for about three years. Last August I shot in my first ATA match and at that time I joined ATA. I use Winchester Super X lead game load shells. On the box is 2 ¾ in, 3 ¼ DR. EQ., 1 oz. I shot 16 yd, 20 yd HDCP, and Doubles using these shells. My research indicates that 1 oz of shot at 3 ¼ DE would be about 1290 f/s. On page 50 of the ATA rule book this would be an okay load to use. However, I was talking with a more experienced trap shooter about this and he said that this load was not a legal load, being fired from my BT99 with a 34” barrel. This really bothered me so I contacted ATA about this and they told me that they didn’t regulate barrel length. So my question is, if ATA doesn’t regulate barrel length for shot velocity and barrel length directly effects shot velocity, how can you tell whether or not the shells you are shooting are legal to be used.

2. Neil Winston

Neil Winston Well-Known Member

They are legal. If the box said over 1335 fps they would be illegal, but there are plenty of Federal bargain loads labeled "1 oz,. 3 1/4 D.E., 1290 fps" and they are legal so yours are too, Ss 54.

Neil

3. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

What the box says is irrelevant. It is what the cronograph says compared to what the rule book says. HMB

4. phirel

phirel TS Member

HMB- A light chronograph or an inductive chronograph. They will give different readings.

Pat Ireland

5. Gary Waalkes

Gary Waalkes Well-Known Member