1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Shot Rhythm

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by dmarbell, Sep 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dmarbell

dmarbell Active Member

I watched a few round singles last Sunday before I started shooting. A few of the birds were shot "early" and a few late. But, most birds were shot within a couple of yards of each other. It seemed I could count "one-thousand-and-one" between the time I first saw the bird and the break would occur on the second "one." This is about a second.

With a bird launched at 42-43 mph, say 42.5, in one second with no loss of speed, the bird would travel just over 20 yards. That would mean a break at 36 yards. Actual yardage with some loss of speed would be 34-35 yards, most likely.

First, is this a good yardage for breaks at singles? If not, is there an optimum break point?

Second, if there is an optimum break point, should you get into a rhythm like this while shooting? It would keep you from jumping at the straight-aways and riding the angles (or jumping or riding any birds). See the bird, count mentally "one-thousand-and-one" or "boom-a-lack-a" or some such thing and pull the trigger.

Wouldn't it be best to break singles birds at the same point on every shot?

BTW, I'm watching my new Phil Kiner DVD as I type this.

Danny

2. Opion8ted

Opion8ted TS Member

You should probably pay more attention to Phil's video and less to BS.com. Just a suggestion, however.

3. maclellan1911

maclellan1911 TS Member