1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.

Short Rib VS Tall Rib for Trap?? Frustrated

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Rodney1966, Aug 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rodney1966

Rodney1966 Member

I have been shooting trap for about 8 months now, and when I realized that I loved the game I invested in a nice gun (for me) a Caesar Guerini Magnus Combo. Little did I know that by buying a gun with a very tall rib would change everything for me in a negative way. My struggles before with a BT99 were small in comparison, and I have never gone through more up and downs in shooting then I have over the past month. Question: Why is there such a difference for some people in shooting a tall rib gun? I do realize that a lot of people can make this switch without a hitch, but I can’t get it for some reason. I am at the point where I can go shoot 25 targets with the Guerini break 18 of them, and grab my sporting flat rib gun and run 50. I have never spent more time on the pattern board, and setting the targets up straight away then in the last month. Now I'm faced with selling a gun that I love, but can’t shoot. Thought?

Rodney
  2. grunt

grunt Active Member

Find out the POI. it may not be putting the shot where you think..
  3. Redcobra

Redcobra Member

Is it an Impact combo or a Trap combo?
    I have one of each and yes they are different.
    If you are used to a flat rib flat shooter you will be over on the trap model.
    The impact can be adjusted to 50/50 if that's what you want, the trap model can't.
    For trap, the trap model rules once you get used to it. Float the bird, hold high. It's not good for sporting clays or skeet IMHO.