1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

short range patterning

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by mercedesman1981, Jul 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mercedesman1981

mercedesman1981 TS Member

May 11, 2007
    I have read through some of the extensive background on patterning but could not find the answer to this question:
    Besides point of impact, can the resultant pattern from the 40' range be extrapolated to 40 yards? For example, if much of the pattern fits inside
    a 10" circle at 40', can you expect the same pattern relationship at 40yds and
    a 30" circle?

Seattle, Wa.

Yep, I'm new to the sport. I shot a lot of skeet 30 years ago and got pretty good at it (I was in Michigan at the time - way more opportunity there at that time than what I have found in the Seattle area). Over the past 4 years I have been shooting bullseye pistol and tried to get my son involved only to find out he likes shooting trap a whole lot more. Now I have found I like shooting trap a lot which works out just fine for the both of us and I have since introduced him to reloading. I also found my shotgun skills have deteriorated a lot too.
  2. Lkn4rocks

Lkn4rocks TS Member

May 16, 2007

The answer to your extrapolated pattern question, just simply no, as shot shell patterns are like that of a trumpet not as that of a cone.

3. phirel

phirel TS Member

Jan 29, 1998
    Lkn4rocks- Are you sure that shot travels in a curve rather than a straight line? If so, what causes the shot to curve?

Pat Ireland
  4. Neil Winston

Neil Winston Well-Known Member

Jan 29, 1998
    Mike, yes. The link shows how.

5. jnoemanh

jnoemanh TS Member

May 20, 2007