1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Shooting With One eye or two eyes?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Drumplayer26, May 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Drumplayer26

Drumplayer26 TS Member

I have been shooting trap for 3 years, and up until just recently i've only shot with one eye. Then about 2 months ago my friend suggested shooting with 2 eyes. There are advantages to both, but i'm not sure which one to stick with, opinions pls

2. Big Bopper

Big Bopper TS Member

Both eyes wide open.

3. Drumplayer26

Drumplayer26 TS Member

yeah, i guess its better, i can defintaly spot the targets faster

4. Bruce Specht

Bruce Specht Well-Known Member

I've always shot with both eyes open I really struggle when shooting rifle or pistol.

5. lumper

lumper TS Member

I usually take both eyes to the range with me just in case one of them goes bad but normally I only use one at a time and most times I like to close them both so the sun doesnt get in them.

Sometimes though this method of preserving them affects my scores.

6. Dale Z

Dale Z TS Member

Shotgun = 2 eyes

Rifle = 1 eye

7. hawk57

hawk57 TS Member

I'm sort of a two eyed shooter. I'm left handed and right eye dominant and shoot with both eyes open but with a frosted dot on my shooting glasses that blocks the right eye from seeing just the end of my barrel. This allows me to use both eyes to spot the bird leaving the trap, however while I'm tracking the bird and when I pull the trigger I'm only using one eye.

Hawk,

8. Drumplayer26

Drumplayer26 TS Member

Thats what my grandfather does, he sight the bird with 2 eyes and close his left just as he shoots

9. FarmerD

FarmerD TS Member

Same as Dale Z