1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Shooting tips when switching guns

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by typhoon, Apr 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. typhoon

typhoon TS Member

I've been shooting the same gun for several years with good success, but recently busted an ejector and may want to enter another shoot before it's fixed. I have a back-up, but have shot it very little. I am deliberately avoiding going into the specifics between the two guns. Suffice it to say they are quite different brands, but one reason I bought the back-up was it's similar fit & feel to my main gun. I will say the back-up has a higher rib.

Assuming both guns fit, or are very close, any short-cuts for a smooth transition from one gun to another? As an FYI, the very first time I shot the back-up, I broke 23 of 25 with it. My personal best event with the "main" gun was a 98 at 16 yards.

2. Oregunner

Oregunner Well-Known Member

I shoot lots of different guns. It's part of the fun of the sport for me. The main difference that I have to get used to, when using a different gun, is the trigger pull. I spend a few minutes dry firing the gun, with snap caps if an O/U, to get used to the creep and pressure needed to pull the trigger. Other than that, it's mental thing if the POI/POA is significantly different than what I have been shooting. Mount the gun, call for the bird, see the bird, shoot the bird. Mark

3. chiefjon

chiefjon Active Member