1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Shooting in the rain

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by ebc, Apr 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ebc

ebc TS Member

Greetings,
    I am interested in problems that may occur when an O/U gets soaked during a shoot. I have a Kolar and have heard that the triggers start to double when wet. There is a good chance of getting wet at a shoot I will be attending soon. Any tips or observations appreciated.
    Thanks,
    ebc

2. K80433SC

K80433SC Member

As a Krieghoff man, I have no experience with what you described about trigger "doubling" with the Kolar - when wet.

About the only thing I do when I get my gun VERY soaked, is to remove the stock and blow it out with an air compressor. I'll spray WD40 or whatever you prefer onto the hammers, springs, pins, etc -- and then blow it with air again to remove excessive lubricant.

3. Brian in Oregon

Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land
    I get guns wet all the time. This is Oregon. It rains once a year here - September through June.<br>
    <br>
    I'm glad I have gas heat. I strip the gun(s), wipe down what I can, then put the actions over the heater grate and crank up the heat. This dries them out quite well. Inspect for water damage, then clean and lube as usual.<br>
    <br>
    The one thing you cannot do is put off attending to them. You might see about getting the Birchwood-Casey Sheath wipes that come in the sealed packages. Keep some in your vehicle, and wipe down the exterior with them if the gun gets wet, after using a dry rag. This will help prevent surface rust on the blueing.

4. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member