1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Shooting Glasses/Prescription insert

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Lyndon Shumaker, Jan 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lyndon Shumaker

Lyndon Shumaker Member

I am thinking of trying a prescription insert for my shooting glasses so I could try more lens colors. I have just used standard prescription Randolph Rangers till now. The insert seems a better way to go. Any comments please????

Thanks
    LS

2. grnberetcj

grnberetcj Active Member

Lyndon..

I have no personal experience with the Ranger insert type lenses, however, 2 of my shooting friends tried them and went back to the single lens. I don't know their exact reasons, just know they weren't happy with the product.

Curt

3. 635 G

635 G Well-Known Member

When I needed scripts prior to my Lasik, one of my sets of glasses was a Ranger Sporter, the scipt lens was the base lens & I used clip on colors as needed.

Phil Berkowitz

4. tj303

tj303 Member

The draw back to using two lens is weight and fogging.

5. $$$SHTR

$$$SHTR Member

I've been using the NYX Sport lenses with an RX insert and am very happy with them. When you first put them on you seem to be able to see the insert, but when you shoot, they can't be seen. I have not had any problems with foggy. These lenses are much smaller than the Rangers so the extra weigh is not noticable. They are also less expensive than the Ranger set.

Tomas

6. gun1357

gun1357 Active Member

I asked the dealer I have used for years to order some for me. He told me to save my money. Ron

7. OzarkGun

OzarkGun Member