1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Shooting Chrony and Shotguns

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Bob Butler, Feb 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bob Butler

    Bob Butler Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    CT
    Any advise for setup using a Shooting Chrony to get a ballpark on shotgun reloads? I have used mine for a lot of metalic reloading to gather information, but never set it up to do shotgun shells.


    How far from the muzzle is working for those that do it?

    Issue with the wad at that distance?

    This is not for a NASA level accuracy test and will not be used to disparage anyones favorite shell choice or powder type. I just want to get close to my factory shells with my reloads.


    Thanks for the help.

    Bob
     
  2. AveragEd

    AveragEd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    5,479
    Location:
    Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
    I use my ProChrono at five feet from the muzzle. The manufacturer advises that 35fps should be deducted from readings as chronographs like ours are designed for handgun and rifle use, so they clock the leading pellet instead of the mass of the shot charge.

    Ed
     
  3. Neil Winston

    Neil Winston Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    7,848
    The publication linked above, "Chronographing Shotguns," should tell you all you want to know and then some.

    Your Crony will work fine, as well as any. Just make sure you open it all the way up!

    Neil
     
  4. Bob Butler

    Bob Butler Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    CT
    Neil
    that was a well written piece. Thanks.






    Bob
     
  5. willing

    willing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    843
    Location:
    E NorthCarolina
    I shoot a number of factory shells and take an ave and compare the difference to what the box says. I then use that as a ad/deduct from my reloads.

    bill
     
  6. ned408

    ned408 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    95
    Bill has it right as far as I'm concerned also....there was always a discussion on how much to deduct from the overall speed, so when loading for Nora, I shot 5 new shells I was trying to duplicate, took the avg, and set my reloads to the same speed...worked awfully good for us.
    Randy Ross
     
  7. Bob Butler

    Bob Butler Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    CT
    Ran some today with a perfect clouded sky overhead. Got what I was looking for.
    Used 3 5 shot groups to check a few things. Ran one 3 shot group because that was all I had. Ran one 10 shot group to see if the reload was that close to the factory.
    Very interesting to see the spread and see why the 10 shot group is helpful. It sure is hard to send 10 down range without the targets though....

    Outcome. My regular gun club hull is spot on at 1200 fps where I want them. Spread over 4 shells was 20 fps. But one outlier was over by 50 fps! Who knows.... Should have shot 10.

    My question on the new reload I wanted to test was right there with the factory shell. B&P factory was right about 1135 for 5 shots. Reload was right about there with the B&P wad and Clays powder. The factory cycles an auto 1100 Remington just fine. Will test the reloads next week on the field.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  8. oleolliedawg

    oleolliedawg Banned User Banned TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    10,124
    Location:
    Northampton PA
    Gee, and I have this neat little Ohler 35P taking up space in the garage. I did fire 3 or 4 shots through it with a pellet gun just for try. Price was right as I "inherited" it from a widows basement as she was throwing his junk out. One day I'll get crazy and work with it!!
     
  9. halfmile

    halfmile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    15,643
    Location:
    Green Bay Wisconsin
    Had a Chrony, worked great at about 5-6 feet away. Till a wad smacked the display. Sent it in, and they fixed it.

    Prochrono or Chrony are both fine for shotgun work.

    HM
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page

chronograph use with shotgun shells

,

chronographing shotgun loads youtube

,

chronographs for shooting for shotguns

,

chrony shotgun

,

youtube how to set up a chrony to check shot shell reloads

,

youtube using a chrony for a shotgun