1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

shooting a release trigger question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by ccampbell, Nov 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ccampbell

ccampbell Member

I just started shooting with a release trigger and it seems that I have to let the bird travel a bit farther inorder to get a smooth release of the trigger,Maybe alot more practice?? CCampbell

2. MX-10RS

MX-10RS TS Member

Shooting with a release trigger should be no different that shooting with a pull trigger. In fact, if anything, I believe (my opinion) it is slightly smoother. Keep practicing and it will become second nature. Good Luck!

3. j2jake

j2jake Well-Known Member

Go to station 7 on skeet field and practice shooting doubles. I found it helped me. Jake

4. daddiooo

daddiooo TS Supporters TS Supporters

Go to post 3 on the trap field and shoot some doubles as well.

Don't think....just shoot.

5. missed some

missed some TS Member

why would station 7 be different than station 1? I would go practice shooting trap, unless you are a skeet shooter. I find shooting singles targets with a release much more difficult than doubles. So if thats where you are having trouble, i would shoot at a single target. mark

6. daddiooo

daddiooo TS Supporters TS Supporters

Exactly my point......shoot doubles to get some range time with the release and when it becomes second nature shoot some singles. When you convert to a release ANY practice with it is beneficial. Doubles just requires less thinking about the trigger and more focus on the birds.

Good luck and don't look back.

7. Stl Flyn

Stl Flyn Well-Known Member

Keep shooting practice. It will take a bit to get used to the timing. Once you do, it will be like it used to be. No excuses. LOL. Jon