1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Shoot Of Question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by phirel, Oct 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. phirel

    phirel TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    9,556
    Suppose two category shooters (Vets) are tied with two non category shooters for singles champion, each with 200X200. The Vets can shoot off for Champ and if they both lose, they can fall back and shoot off for Vet. In the champion shoot off both non category shooters break 25, one Vet breaks 24 and the other Vet breaks 23. Would this shoot off for champion also decide the shoot off for Vet?

    Pat Ireland
     
  2. Neil Winston

    Neil Winston Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    7,848
    If shoot management says so, yes. If shoot management says not, then not.

    A similar situation came up at the Grand a number of years ago. Remember how all the singles events used to pile up Sunday night to be shot off? Once, at least, they were all sifted together, that is, a single miss might take you out of five events. That was changed the following year so each stood as a separate shoot-off.

    Neil
     
  3. Don S

    Don S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    287
    If one of the Vets declares category and the other vet shoots off for champion, do they then shoot off for vet champion? That is assuming the Vet shooting off for champion finishes third.
     
  4. jevoliva

    jevoliva Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    889
    Why wouldn't it decide the category at the same time? Re-word the question for classes. 3 AA shooters tied for event champion and AA champion and runner up. In the first sub event, the scores are 25, 24, and 23. Wouldn't we agree that all three trophies are decided by that one shoot off? The two with the lowest scores don't shoot again to decide the class champion just because they were knocked out of the event champion trophy.

    Why would it be any different for categories?
     
  5. NintyT

    NintyT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    262
    Neil, I agree with your opinion, however the shoot management must state this is the case before the shoot off begins. If this comes as a surprise to the loser, he may think that he was cheated. The loser may feel that if he had the better score in the championship shootoff, the decision may have been different. Steve J
     
  6. hmb

    hmb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    9,420
    It's wonderful when management is allowed to make up the rules. HMB
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.