1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Sellier & Bellot NRA shotshells

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by glenns, Jan 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. glenns

glenns Member

The latest Cabela's ad has Sellier & Bellot NRA shotshells for $44.99/case. They are 7/8 oz, #8 shot.

Anybody have any experience shooting these? Good, bad?

2. SevenMaryThree

SevenMaryThree Member

I have no experience with their target loads, however I have burned up several hundred of the S&B buckshot loads. They all went bang but patterned terribly, and have the most horrible odor when fired.

It's hard to describe exactly, but imagine somebody setting a urine soaked horse on fire. That's what it smelled like.

3. Jon Reitz

Jon Reitz Well-Known Member

Glenn,

Are they for trap or international trap? Also check the FPS. The ones I happened on, we couldn't give away, literally. About a mis-fire per every ten or so. Even the packaging was poor.

Good luck.

Jon Reitz

4. AAtrap

AAtrap Well-Known Member

I was wondering about these also. I received the flyer yesterday and stopped in at the local Cabela's and they didn't have any on the shelves. Sale starts Thursday.

In the picture it says, "Trap 24 Sport." I can make out 7/8 and #8 but it appears there is a 3 1/2 under that. Does this represent drams? Not sure I'd get too excited about those.

Steve

5. Jon Reitz

Jon Reitz Well-Known Member

AAtrap,

I think you are spot-on. 3-1/2 was the correct DE (dram equivalent) number I remember for these shoulder-killers. Ouch! I would not touch them for free.

G/L

Jon Reitz

6. wayneo

wayneo Active Member

They are listed at 1312 fps.

Wayne

7. glenns

glenns Member

I looked at the ad again and noticed the 3 1/2 on the box. I think I'll pass on these.