1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Seeing the bird

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by ram2008, Mar 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ram2008

ram2008 TS Member

I'm new at shooting trap, so all help will be appreciated! I have trouble getting on the bird, after I call it from the 16 yard line. My gun position is correct, as explained in all the trap shooting instructions I had read, from each station, lineing up with the front edge of the trap house. When the bird comes out, I keep both eyes open, and try and track the bird, catch up to it, aim for the leading edge, fire, and keep the gun in motion. Correct? My problem is by the time I go through all this, the bird is almost reaching its arc, and on the way down! What can I do to focus on the bird, right out of the house, and follow its track easier, and faster? This is my problem. I bought a BT-99, and the gun fits me well, mounting, and closeing my eye, and coming up with the figure 8 on the beads. I did shoot 20 today at the club, but I know I can do better. Any ideas out there from all you experts?
    Thanks,
    Richard

2. phirel

phirel TS Member

Richard- Your problem sounds to me like you are trying to see the bird and then put the front sight on the leading edge and pull the trigger. This is common among new shooters and it won't work well.