1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Second shot of doubles?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Shooter R, Mar 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shooter R

Shooter R Active Member

Do most shooters just use their 16 yard shells for the first shot, and their handicap shells for the second?

2. mkstephen

mkstephen Active Member

One ounce on the first shot 1 1/8 oz single load on the second.

Michael Stephenson

AA-26.5-AA

3. dverna

dverna Active Member

I am not very good at Doubles yet.

I use 2 3/4 dram 1 1/8 oz of 8's for both shots and the same load for singles. Keeps things simple. I read that Frank Little used the same shell for both shots - but he could hit anything.

I managed to shoot a 98 and 97 at the Grand last year to win a couple of C class events and used AA Light Target loads - #8 shot.

There is something in one of the issues of T&F that lists what the All-Americans use. If I can find it I will post it.

Don Verna

4. Mike Battista

Mike Battista Well-Known Member Supporting Vendor

I used 1 1/8 oz of #8 1/2 for the first shot and 1 1/8 oz of #8 for the second shot. The first shot had a velocity of less than 1090 FPS so that any recoil would not push you off balance and out of the gun. Able to take the second shot in one fluid motion
    Mike Battista

5. short shucker

short shucker TS Member

I generally use my skeet shell for the first shot (7/8 oz of 8.5's going 1225 fps) sporting shell (1 oz of 8's going 1235 fps) for the second. I don't shoot registered targets but my league average is about 95% (94.737 if I recall correctly).

I don't know if it works for anyone else, but it works for me.

ss

6. grnberetcj

grnberetcj Active Member

I use 1 oz. of 7-1/2's, 1200 fps for both shots.

Curt

7. ljutic73