1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Second bird in doubles

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by dds4horse, Jun 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dds4horse

dds4horse Member

I am a beginner doubles shooter and I am having trouble with my second bird. Other than practicing 2 birds at a time I'd like to work on picking up that second bird what would be the approximate distance I should stand back on the line to simulate it.

2. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

The reason new shooters have trouble with the second bird in doubles is that the POI of their shotgun is set for a rising bird. Most doubles shooters when they shoot at the second bird are shooting at a flat or dropping target. If you can adjust the POI of the second barrel of your gun to shoot flat your hits on the second target should improve. HMB

3. miketmx

miketmx Well-Known Member

The top shooters recommend taking the first bird as fast as you can since you know its flite path before you call Pull. Leo recommends dropping the barrels down in a slight "U" shaped move after the first bird so that you can come up to the 2nd bird.

4. Jason Hassler

Jason Hassler Member

Shoot the first target as aggressively as you can and the real key to breaking the second target is to not watch the first bird break. As soon as you feel the gun recoil get your eyes to the second bird BEFORE the gun gets there. Then make a controlled smooth move right through it.

5. stokinpls

stokinpls Well-Known Member

It would depend on how fast your second shot is. With me, the answer is "27 yards". I'm so slow that the shooter on my right is calling for his targets while I'm still chasing the second bird. ;-)

6. jbshep

jbshep Member