1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

screw in chokes vs fixed barrel chokes

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Onehipbill, Apr 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Onehipbill

Onehipbill TS Member

I have a Remington 1100 with a Ubanks High Rib, tight fixed full choke. I have been shooting trap for approximately 6 years. I would like to have screw in chokes to make up for the lack of trap shooting skills. Does anyone know of a good, quality, quick turnaround, gunsmith ? I have been told about a gunsmith located in OK , Skeet is his name . I have not been able to locate the Gunsmith. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Bill Coughlin

2. zzt

zzt Well-Known Member

SKEETS GUN SHOP, 918-456-4749. 18818 S 540 Rd Tahlequah, OK 74464

Good choice.

3. esoxhunter

esoxhunter Well-Known Member

Bill: My opinion. Choke tubes won't give you better scores. Just one more element to confuse a person. An adjustable comb would be much more beneficial than choke tubes. Ed

4. phirel

phirel TS Member

Bill- Several gunsmiths can do a good job of installing screw in chokes. Unfortunately they will not "make up for a lack of trapshooting skills". I sure wish they would.

Pat Ireland

5. miketmx

miketmx Well-Known Member

The Eubanks high rib is a very valuable barrel to own. If you really want choke tubes you would be much better off buying another barrel cheap than in spoiling a work of art by Roger Eubanks.

6. KEYBEAR

KEYBEAR Active Member