1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Sacramento area trap coach: recommendations?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by JeffreyHJanian, May 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JeffreyHJanian

JeffreyHJanian TS Member

I'm in the Sacramento area and I'm thinking of getting some coaching. I started shooting trap last summer. I'm shooting over 20 but have a hard time hitting 24 and have never hit 25.

I usually shoot at Coon Creek, but have also visit Sacramento Valley Shooting Center, Auburn Trap Club, and Beale Air Force Base.

Have you used a coach / had lessons from anyone you'd recommend in the area?

Thanks, Jeff

2. starshot2b

starshot2b TS Member

I can definitely recommend C.A. Redding out at Coon Creek. He was my coach for a very long time. Now, he helps me when I need to tweak things. He's awesome, patient and knows his stuff. He literally took me back to basics to unlearn all the bad habits I got with my ill-fitting first shotgun -- worth every frustrating (my frustration) minute!

He's coaching/instructing International Trap (the Junior's), but he'll work with you anytime. I'd suggest you not go out this Saturday; there's some function going on and it will be a mad house out there. Definitely go out Sunday morning if you can. If you don't plan on going to Livermore for the CSTA State Shoot, that would also be a great time to see C.A. about some instruction. He'll be at Coon Creek. He's worked with quite a few people and they have the high scores/averages to show for it.

Good luck.

3. ffwildcat

ffwildcat TS Member