Trapshooters Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

RX Prescription Shooting Glasses ???

6K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  IM390 
#1 ·
Just got back from my optometrist and have a new prescription. My question is since it gets expensive every time I have a change to replenish all my lens colors has anyone had experience with the new prescription inserts that I see a couple companies advertising. Are they for real or just a gimmick? I appreciate any and all feedback both good and bad. Thanks Mike.

#2 ·
I'll speak up again for the NYX glasses with the Sved Optics prescription insert, which I've been using for about 6 years. I used Decots for years before that. NYX has several different models, which are slightly different. They are all about $20 for the frame and $20 for each lens. My inserts are
about $170 for a prescription with bifocal. Sved Optics makes inserts for several other glasses as well.
NYX glasses are light, wrap-around, and the insert is close to the eye, so you don't need glasses that ride high on your face. Hidefspex has glasses that use an insert, as does Oakley. They all work fine,

#3 ·
I have a 3 lens set of the NYX glasses with the prescription insert and also have two sets of Randolph Ranger frames with 6 colors of separate prescription lenses. Of the two systems, I really prefer the Rangers, especially so for shooting trap. The lenses themselves sit higher on the face and the optical centers of the lenses (on mine made specifically for trap shooting) have been made higher in the lenses themselves. That is a big help as the clearest and best focused part of the lens is higher then the actual center.