1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

RV Power Question

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by 320090T, Apr 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 320090T

    320090T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,348
    Location:
    Indiana
    Does an RV use 110 or 220? 30 amp, 50 amp????
     
  2. Ross

    Ross Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,638
    the 2 that i have had were 30 AMP 110 or 120. don't know about 50 AMPers. probably best to ask a dealer.. ross
     
  3. trapshootin hippie

    trapshootin hippie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,252
    110, I have never seen a 220 unit. Some are 30 amp, the larger ones are 50, I believe.
     
  4. 320090T

    320090T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,348
    Location:
    Indiana
    OK, now my real question. Can I use an adapter and use half of the 220? It is my welder plug, 50 amp.
     
  5. shot410ga

    shot410ga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    7,759
    No, you will blow you converter. I've had 110 20 amp and 110 30 amp.
     
  6. trapshootin hippie

    trapshootin hippie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,252
    As long as it is 110, it would work. With the right connection, of course.
     
  7. 320090T

    320090T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,348
    Location:
    Indiana
    I thought about a 220 cord with one prong cut off, and not using that wire. One side and a ground. Trying to hook up a visiting uncles RV.
     
  8. M-16

    M-16 TS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    30amp trailers have one air cond and 50 amp usely have two. Your welding plug will work 220 is 2-110's. So if you get the ground and one hot you have 110v, but you have no third wire for ground. The gfi's on the trailer should still work, but if there is a fault between your house and the trailer both wire's could go hot. All in all it will work but diffently doesn't meet code
     
  9. jbbor

    jbbor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,036
    CDRV #39932 at the above website!
     
  10. bentbarrel

    bentbarrel TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    72
    Make sure your fire insurance is current first!
     
  11. shooter99

    shooter99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,404
    Location:
    Blue River, Wisconsin
    Your best bet is to install the correct outlet for your needs. Your needs are, a 50 amp single pole breaker with a 50 amp outlet. This consist of 1 current carrier, 1 neutral, and 1 ground.
     
  12. jbbor

    jbbor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,036
    Talk to a competent electrician and not TS.com experts on everything! Some of it is very bad info and advice. Jimmy Borum
     
  13. 320090T

    320090T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,348
    Location:
    Indiana
    This visit is just for a week so I think I will just install the proper plug in for his trailer and be safe. I can unhook and set aside the welder wires in the breaker box and replace it with the 110/50 amp with the proper wiring and end and be safe. I can put the welder plug back in when they are gone. My box is full or this wouldn't be an issue. Thanks for the info.
     
  14. George Steffes

    George Steffes TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    149
    Mine is a 50 amp. and at home i plug it into 110v,i just use a 30 amp breaker and an adapter to the RV cord to plug it in to 110.

    George
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.