1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Rules Question

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Mike Michalski, Jan 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mike Michalski

    Mike Michalski Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Troy Michigan
    At the Dixie Grand I inadvertently shot from the wrong yardage (22 instead of 23). I was squad leader and did this on post 3. As I went to reset the voice release microphone I noticed the error and before leaving the post turned to the scorer and told her my error and that she should change my score for that station to zeros ("0"). She informed me that since I was up a yard and had hit all 5 targets that I should shoot the post over. I did and, of course, missed one.

    Now the question: was this right? I've never heard of this reshooting the post and can find nothing in the rule book. Can someone clarify, please.
     
  2. Ertz

    Ertz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    289
    From the ATA rule book. It looks like this was handled properly.

    If a contestant fails to follow this rule in its entirety, the referee/scorer shall rule any target fired at and broken a “NO TARGET,” but if fired at and
    missed, the referee/scorer shall rule the target “LOST.” For example,
    targets shot at and broken from the wrong yardage marker must be
    shot over, targets shot at from the wrong yardage marker and missed
    will be scored “LOST.”
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.