1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

rules question

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by smsnyder, Sep 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smsnyder

    smsnyder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    4,830
    lets say a jr shooter is shooting handicap at 21 yards and wins his yardage group and also his class as a jr. shooter. Does jr shooter have a choice of what trophies he takes? Lets also say a jr shooter wins the championship, now the second jr. shooter is runner up in the shoot but also wins his yardage group. can he choice between runner up for championship, yardage group or winner as a jr shooter? No one could answer this at todays shoot. i have seen this happen several times. if jr. shooter takes jr shooter trophy or yardage trophy he gets no yardage provided his score is under 96 but if he takes runner up he may get yardage.
     
  2. Beancounter

    Beancounter TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    482
    There is no scenario where a trophy choice involves yardage. Yardage is a separate subject and is covered in a different section of the rules. So throw that part of your post away. Please post the rule that supports your statements.

    Second - you can always choose your poison. But the choice sticks. Mr. Kaiser covers this subject quite well in his Sept T&F article. Of course you must be able to read and comprehend the information.
     
  3. smsnyder

    smsnyder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    4,830
    ok, high shooter for event is a jr. Runner up for event is a jr. A Jr. 21 yarder is a winner in yardage . A Jr. handicap winner trophy is also offered. who wins what?
     
  4. Beancounter

    Beancounter TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    482
    You need to read the rules - shooters must declare what they are doing, this is not the big mystery you are declaring. Please read Mr Kaisers article and you might actually learn something. If you want a short response, I will simply tell you that you need to learn how to read and then you need to request a copy of the rules from the ATA. Category shooters always get an extra bite at the apple. It is such a common sense question that I am having trouble understanding your confusion.
     
  5. smsnyder

    smsnyder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    4,830
    thanks, i will try to get an updated rule book.
     
  6. phirel

    phirel TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    9,556
    smsnyder- First, yardage punches never follow winning a trophy. Punches are given for high scores and it does not matter if the score may have won a trophy.

    It is not at all unusual for a category shooter to have a choice of runner up, category or yardage trophies. He must select one. If he is tied for a category trophy, he cannot shoot-off for the trophy and if he loses, fall back to a yardage trophy. The trophy he selects will never have anything to do with earned yardage. The earned yardage is based only on his score.

    Pat Ireland
     
  7. V10

    V10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,637
    Location:
    Mojave Desert
    Pat,

    When you state "If he is tied for a category trophy, he cannot shoot-off for the trophy and if he loses, fall back to a yardage trophy." aren't you assuming that this question applies to ATA-provided trophies such as at a state shoot? I don't believe that this would necessarily be true at a small club shoot.
     
  8. 870

    870 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,390
    SM:

    You have been shooting long enough that you should have been able to answer your own question if you simply referred to the rule book. What really scares me is your statement that "No one could answer this at todays shoot. i have seen this happen several times." Is this really true, or were you just talking about it with the ever present group that never reads the rule book, instead taking everything they hear as gospel without ever taking a few minutes to find out how things really work.

    Seriously, what club puts on shoots where nobody can answer the question you asked?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.