1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Rule Clarification request

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by harley1, Sep 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. harley1

    harley1 TS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    What is the correct ruling when shooting doubles and you have a failure to fire on the first target of the pair?? Repeat the pair with nothing established or first bird lost and repeat the pair to establish the second target?? Seems to be contraversy over this issue.
     
  2. Harv Shell

    Harv Shell TS Supporters TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,865
    Location:
    Morris, Il.
    No controversy, very clear in the rules. First target failure to fire, shoot the pair over. From the rulebook<br>
    2. A contestant shall be allowed 2 failures to fire, for any reason other
    than stated in Paragraph C., 2., above, during each Doubles sub-event
    if the Failure to Fire occurs when the contestant attempts to shoot the
    first target of a Doubles pair, or when the contestant attempts to shoot
    the second target of a Doubles pair after the first target has been fired
    at and broken and would have been scored “DEAD”. When the first
    target of a Doubles pair is fired at and missed and that target would be
    scored “LOST”, and an allowable “Failure to Fire” occurs on the second
    target, the shooter may shoot another pair. In such a circumstance the
    shooter must shoot at both targets of the repeat pair but the first target
    30
    shall be scored “Lost” regardless of the result of the actual shot, the
    second target shall be scored as shot.
     
  3. 870

    870 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,390
    You repeat the pair, nothing is established.
     
  4. Shawn

    Shawn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    530
    If it is a failure to fire on the first bird. You get to shoot the pair again and the results are to be scored. Unless you have had 2 failures to fire already in the sub event.

    Shawn
     
  5. blades

    blades TS Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    What would be the recommended procedure for when you or someone on your squad has this situation occur and the ref rules incorrectly?
     
  6. miketmx

    miketmx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,966
    If the ref rules it incorrectly you should reach in your back pocket and pull out your rule book and get the ref straightened out.
     
  7. Recoil Sissy

    Recoil Sissy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,644
    blade:

    With the exception of 'dead and lost' calls**, any action or ruling you believe to be erroneous can be appealed to shoot management.

    For example, you're shooting registered handicap. Your squad leader screws up on the very first post. Instead of moving after his fifth shot, he shoots and misses a sixth target. The guy on post two says, "Hey, wait a minute. You just shot an extra target."

    Mr. Squad leader insists, "That's a do-over. The missed sixth target doesn't count. We all move and I shoot again."

    The scorekeeper and the rest of the squad don't know any better. They're ok with a do-over. You DO know better and call bullsh!t. If you don't have a rule book handy and can't convince Mr. Squad leader that he's wrong, you can request (demand if necessary) a ruling by shoot management.

    sissy



    ** Unless there is a separate referee present like in a shoot off situation the scorekeeper is the final authority on every 'dead or lost' call.
     
  8. BigM-Perazzi

    BigM-Perazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    8,542
    Location:
    HELL, MICHIGAN
    Good example sissy...but it's only the scorekeeper you have to convince. Not the yahoo on P1.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.