1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

RIO's missing shells?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by OGC Director, Oct 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OGC Director

OGC Director TS Member

RIO

Oxford Gun Club purchased several flats of Rio's to give as prizes during our Club Championship and as our club members use them they are finding boxes with shells missing. Today for the Pen-Mar shoot a member opened a new box (still taped) and there were 4 shells missing. We opened the rest of the boxes he had and found another one with 1 shell missing. Has anyone else had this issue? I have been shooting Rio Hcp shells for a couple of years and never had this problem. (shells in question were 1 1/8 8's)

2. phirel

phirel TS Member

Look for boxes with the top bulged out. They might have 26-27 shells in them. The short shell boxes seem to be more common with discount shells.

Pat Ireland

3. batman1004

batman1004 TS Member

I have shot alot of different brands of shells and have had missing shells in every one of them but never had more than 25 in a box. g3

4. yuccaknob

yuccaknob TS Member

I have been selling Rio's at our club for about 4 years and never had this problem until they started assembling them in Tennesse. I have had short boxes, some with no primers, and several with sorry crimps and all the shot leaked out. Sounds like their quality control is pretty poor.
    Don

5. OGC Director

OGC Director TS Member

I emailed them at www.rioammo.com to see what they have to say. Has anyone else contacted them? What was their response. I to have had a box with a shell shy every bluemoon or so but never one with extras.

6. Pull & Mark

Pull & Mark Well-Known Member