Trapshooters Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rio Primers?

6K views 21 replies 14 participants last post by  AveragEd 
#1 ·
I was just wondering what everyone thought of the rio primers. I have been shooting cheddites and like them a lot but I can get cases of rios for a pretty good price. Thanks in advance for the help.

Sincerely, Osker Reynolds

#3 ·
Oversized European primer that is as hot as a Federal 209A. They don't have any issues in cold weather. I never had any misfires in the 2500 that I tried (shooting buddy and I split a sleeve).

I haven't reloaded any for about a year because I got a sweet deal on 10,000 Wnchester 209's

ss

#4 ·
I've been reloading them for several years. Never a misfire and they have no problem with cold temperatures. They do enlarge the primer pocket slightly so you won't be able to go back to Winchesters, Remingtons etc. You must dedicate those hulls to the Rio primers.
AJ

#5 ·
I occasionally punch a hole in one but they're OK otherwise. They work better with slower powders in straight-walled hulls; they over-pressure quickly in Remington and Winchester tapered hulls with less capacity especially if the crimps are too deep or the wad pressure higher than it needs to be. They are very touchy with 1 1/8 loads and powders like Clays, Claydot, Red Dot etc. Rio uses a slow single base powder over them in hulls with lots of capacity.

There is limited data here: http://www.rioammo.com/images/ReloadingData209RioPrimers.pdf and two loads in Alliant's on-line data. They tend to be inconsistent which is why there is virtually no powder company data for them.

Powder company tests show them to be generally hotter than Federals. They are not a primer to be swapping casually for others without testing.

MK

#6 ·