1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Rio 209 Shotshell Primers

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by skeeljc, Apr 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skeeljc

skeeljc Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

Are Rio 209 shotshell primers o.k? How do they compare to Winchester 209's and Cheddite 209's?

Jim Skeel

2. Shoot-at-em

Shoot-at-em TS Member

I have trouble loading them in any Remington hull. So I use Federal or Win. primers in them and use Rios in Winchester hulls. For some reason thing work better that way. They are about #40.00 per 5000 cheaper than Federan or Win.

Frank

3. Shooting Coach

Shooting Coach Well-Known Member

I have been using Rio primers for several years. I stocked up when they were cheap.

I had just as soon use them as any brand out there. They always go bang in cold weather. They will work in a gun with tired mainsprings and firing pins. I have not had the first failure-to-fire with them.

The fact that they are oversized is a good thing because they work in any hull. I have an almost inexhaustible supply of "Eurotrash" hulls, and the Rio fits them well. I prefer the Riefenhauser hull. I load them once, and toss them. With this method, I always put good components in a good hull. :^)

I load using Fed 209A data, and check with a chrono to match Fed 209A speed. Sometimes I have to go up a bushing, sometimes down a bushing, sometimes the speed is the same.

4. Quack Shot

Quack Shot Active Member