1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Rib - is "floating" of any benifit

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by jhh, Dec 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jhh

jhh Member

Rib - is

Have a Ljutic Banana Gun I bought new in early 80's, never liked it. I recently resleeved it with a regular barrel and have been shooting it with a rib made of maple in order to find what would be good specs. for the rib height ect. Some years ago I put a rib on a Parker that I built much like a Simmons, ie. I dovetailed the rib to the post. When I started shooting I had a Rem 31TC, the rib was intregal with the bbl. and there were coments that as the bbl. got hot the poi would go up. Never thought much about it. I know you guys test stuff a lot, my question is do any of you know wheather the floating rib on such a gun (Ljutic, now a mono) is of any importance. Attaching the rib securely to each post is a much easier way of making one than the dovetail method, but if there is an issue with the poi, I can with more work make up the dovetailed type. Thanks for your thoughts, John Hancock

2. 333t

333t Member

Rib - is