1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

RGP contact lenses?

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by skeet_man, Jan 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skeet_man

skeet_man Well-Known Member

Is anyone using these? I've been using soft contact lenses for about 10 years, with good results. However, there is a slight astigmatism in my right eye, which is presently uncorrected as i'm only @ .50 cyl, and toric lenses don't start until .75 From what I can tell, RGP should be better than soft contacts in just about every way, and will help to correct my slight astigmatism.

I always thought RGP were crazy expensive (IIRC, I was told in the $300/pair range, but maybe the person telling me that was including the exam and more than one set of lenses), but doing about 30 seconds worth of research online, it looks like they are around $30ish/lens, but the lenses last a very long time.

My vision is good in both eyes (20/15), but doesn't seem to be in focus in my right eye (kinda hard to explain, but it almost seems that each eye sees well by itself, but they aren't quite cooperating with one another to provide one view). I believe this is caused by my astigmatism, which is as bad as it can get without being correctable by soft contact lenses.

Any thoughts on soft vs RGP would be appreciated.

2. Dr Joe

Dr Joe Member