1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

repair of Hornady 366 and adjustng shell plate spe

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by jeffbob, Feb 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jeffbob

jeffbob TS Member

Hi
    I am new to this great site and am wondering if anyone has worked on a Hornady 366 shotshell reloader. I am having trouble adjusting the return speed of the shell plate. It is very, very sluggish. I have disassembled, lightly oiled and cleaned all the parts.

There must be a spring somewhere that I can use to increase the speed of the shell plate as it rotates counter-clockwise.

the Parts diagram is so small that I can't really see what is going on. I went to the Hornady web and downloaded the PDF manual and that also is blurry when I enlarge the immage.

Please help me with this so I can get running on that new loader.

thanks
    Jeff

2. high 2

high 2 Member

Make sure the shell plate is not too tight. The nut should be short of snug.
    Larry

3. brent375hh

brent375hh TS Member

You must have a new one. My shell plate advance is controlled by returning the lever to the upright position. I have to slow down to give the primer time to drop and keep shot from flying.

Do you have a gas piston installed on yours, and if so can you bypass it?

4. brent375hh

brent375hh TS Member

Jeff,

I am truly suprised that someone has not given you more info.

Sorry I don't have a gas assist model so I could help. Make sure you don't have spilled shot under the plate.

I have used a PW800c a MEC9000 and now a 366. They all work well, but I think the 366 is an under appreciated tool.

5. StonewallRacing

StonewallRacing Well-Known Member

Jeff, Here's a couple things.....