1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Remington Sporting Clays Ammo

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Mikey1100, Jan 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mikey1100

Mikey1100 TS Member

At a recent league shoot, I noticed a few shooters using Remington Sporting Clays shells. On the box it says 1300 fps. I am new to trap shooting and was the scorer. I know if this were an ATA registered shoot, those shells would be illegal. What should I have done or said? The league chairman said , don't worry about it. 1 1/8 oz #7 1/2

thanks

2. cubancigar2000

cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member

If it was not a registered shoot, dont worry about it

3. Unknown1

Unknown1 Well-Known Member

From where you're sitting, can you be sure that what is ON the boxes is what is IN the boxes or that what was ON the hulls was what was IN the hulls?

Keller

4. Dr.Longshot

Dr.Longshot Banned Banned

Well by SAAMI stds this is an OK shell 1250 Fps + or- 90 Fps =1340fps

Poor way to say they are legal thogh, but that is the rule + or - 90 Fps

The AA super Hdcps have tested over 1320fps.

But I go with the printed speed on the shells or box, that says they are legal.

But stretching the rules they are OK.

I have picked up a lot of new shells at shoots that even say 1 1/4 oz #6s
    In Kentucky and at Cardinal, let alone 1300fps Sporting Clays Shells

Gary Bryant
    Dr.longshot

5. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

If you are going to be a scorer make sure you bring your calibrated cronograph with you so you can check everybodies ammo. HMB

6. mrskeet410

mrskeet410 TS Member

Mikey1100 - You reported what you saw to management and let them make a decision. You did the right thing. If you did the same thing at a registered shoot, that too would be right thing to do.