1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Remington Shotgun Primers

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by HTSmith, Mar 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HTSmith

HTSmith Active Member

It's time for me to restock primers. I have been using Remington hulls, wads, primers, and Alliant American Select for 1 and 1.125 loads at about 1200 fps. These seem to be working just as well as the factory STS loads for me, but then again I'm no expert. Now in my shopping for a new supply of primers it seems that Remington is drastically more expensive than Federal or Winchester. In the Mid South catalog I just got the Remingtons are almost double the cost of Federal. Couple of questions:
    Is there a reason the Remingtons are so much more expenssive, ie are they better? and Does anyone have a good recipe for one ounce loads using American Select powder and Federal or Winchester primers? (All the Alliant data I can find uses Remingtons) Thank you.

2. colonel klink

colonel klink Active Member

I would say to price around. I just looked at Recob's Target Shop website.
    Federal are $136.89, Remington are $172.99, Winchester are $142.99 & Nobel Sport are $109.99. All prices are per 5,000. They have other brands also & are great people to deal with. You might try Gamaliel's also, heard they had a sale on primers on this website last week. JMO but check around. Colonel

3. HTSmith

HTSmith Active Member

Looks like its time to switch primers. Thanks

4. Leo

Leo Well-Known Member

I used winchester primers almost all the time in Remington hulls, no problems

5. chipped1

chipped1 TS Member

I use STS hulls, Rem TGT12S Wads, Win primers, 17.6gr Clay Dot, 1oz lead. Cost per box = $3.50
    Great load for 16 yards.

6. stokinpls

stokinpls Well-Known Member