1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.

Remington Arms on the NBC news

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by dphillips8191, Apr 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dphillips8191

dphillips8191 Member

I found the report on the NBC news very interesting about the Remington arms company. What the feeling of the readers on TS.com

Dave
  2. Brian in Oregon

Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

3. timb99

timb99 Active Member

Admittedly, I did not see the NBC piece.

However, this excerpt from one of the links Brian posted tells me something.

"Yerger...leaned his shotgun...against the wheel well...tossed his gear into the back, the gun fell over and went off."

Did this kid take hunter education? If so, did he listen?

I have been teaching hunter education for many years. He violated several basic rules that we hammer and hammer and hammer in our classes.

1. Did not unload the gun.

2. Leaned the LOADED gun against an unstable vehicle.

3. Relied on the safety, which is a mechanical device. All mechanical devices fail, at some time or another.

So his family sued the gun manufacturer because, after all, it couldn't possibly have been his fault for violating basic firearms safety rules. Right?

Unload the friggin gun! This one, standard, all encompassing, hunter education safety rule would have prevented this problem. It would have made this a non-event.
  4. Don Steele

Don Steele Active Member

NBC "News"...????
    I'm not watching ANYTHING they produce, they are PROVEN LIARS who will create phoney results to their "tests", edit KEY portions of tapes to alter truth and push their extreme left-wing agenda. They should be in front of Congress explaining why they should be allowed to keep their broadcast license.
  5. 51mgb

51mgb TS Member