1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Remington 1100 Classic Trap vs Competition

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by indydrew, Oct 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. indydrew

indydrew TS Member

Hello all!

I am very new to trapshooting, less than a month, and I am looking for my first trap gun. I have it narrowed down to one of these two models the 1100 Classic Trap (25333) or the 1100 Competition (26919).

The dedicated trap gun has the advantage of course, but the competition gun has some features that may make it worth looking into. Would the 1100 competition make a good trap gun or should I stick with the Classic Trap.

I thought I would ask the pro's out here and see what your thoughts are.

Thanks,

Drew

2. Ernesto1

Ernesto1 Member

I don't know about the 1100 Classic Trap, but I purchased new an 870 Classic Trap. I had an adjustable comb installed and a Nelson Pad-a-just and couldn't be happier. Still a little stiff after about 1,000 rounds but shoots exactly where I point it. If you are just shooting trap as I am, the Classic Trap would be a better choice.

Darryl

3. timb99

timb99 Well-Known Member

I have seen an 1100 Competition, and its a really nice gun.

But if you're buying a gun for shooting trap, buy a trap gun.

4. Dickgshot

Dickgshot Well-Known Member

The Competition has a sporting clays stock, and is muzzle heavy with the 30" barrel. Definitely the classic trap.

5. R.Kipling

R.Kipling Well-Known Member

When I purchased my first 1100 Comp I intended to use it for Trap Doubles. I called Remington, spoke with a supervisor in Parts and arranged for a swap of wood for the Monte Carlo stock. I even sent the forearm so that they could match it up to the new stock (the Pro-bore BBl has a bigger Dia.).