1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Rem 3200 troubles

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by paul.QTGC, Jul 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paul.QTGC

paul.QTGC TS Member

I've recently purchased a Remington 3200 that appears to work fine with either barrel on singles. When I shoot doubles, the second barrel fails to fire several times during a round. I've surface cleaned the gun but am still locating a manual, to give me the confidence, to give it a good cleaning.
    Any thoughts as to what my problem could be ?

thanks,
    Paul

2. gdbabin

gdbabin TS Member

Send an Email Paul and I'll provide my phone number so we can talk. I have some experience with owning 3200's.

Guy Babin

3. BDodd

BDodd TS Member

Paul, first step is to remove the butt stock and thoroughly clean the lock work in the receiver without ever taking a tool to anything. I like to drench the receiver innards with brake or carb. cleaner and blow that out with compressed air. Look for any remaining goo or muck to remove further. I'll wager your problem is goo in the barrel selector mechanism slowing it down or preventing it to reliably operate when the first barrel is fired. When cleared, spray it lightly with a lube and give that a blow of compressed air too. A nice wipe down with a rag and maybe a dot of light grease in some obvious locations and put it back together. Remember, Remington recommends only 5 lbs of torque when tightening the stock bolt when re-assembling; this is one of the ways Remington suggested for avoiding cracking wood at locations where it meets metal. BTW, the owner's manual is pretty simple and will not give you the info I've just suggested.....breakemall....Bob Dodd

4. bobr

bobr Member