1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Reloads for Remington 1100 and 11-87

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by linkerman, Aug 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. linkerman

linkerman Member

I am new to reloading and have a question about “pressure” of reloads. The loads that I want to make will be # 8 shot at 1150 – 1200 feet per second. I have looked in my reloading manual and there are obviously many recipes that will achieve what I am looking to do. I have also noticed that the pressure ranges from as low as 5500 psi to 11700 psi depending on component selection.

My question is this: We are shooting both 1100's and 11-87's (with target barrel) and I want to know what the optimum shell pressure needs to be. Will too little pressure mean cycling problems and would to much pressure cause premature wear and tear on our guns?

Thanks in advance for your help
    David W

2. Quack Shot

Quack Shot Active Member