1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Reloading STS 20 ga.

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by kaycee, Mar 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kaycee

kaycee TS Member

I have inherited a P&W 20 ga reloader and would like to reload as close to the Remington STS spec's as possible. I am new to reloading so all help with components is welcome. I have seen Whiz White on here and if he has any suggestions I would appreciate them. Thanks All Kevin

2. Bob_K

Bob_K Well-Known Member

You can't actually get there since Remington ammunition is loaded with non-canister powders that are not available to the public. Using powders that are available, I would suggest:
    STS 20 ga Hull
    Remington STS primer
    Remington RXP20 wad
    16.0 grains Hodgdon Universal powder
    7/8 oz magnum (hard) shot

This should be a hair over 1200 fps.

3. dennis (nj)

dennis (nj) Guest

I load RGC hulls and their Sport loads with 14 gr of 700X with 7/8 winchester wads if thats any help . I will get some claybuster wads as I`m out of Winchesters . I don`t like the STS`s after they have been shot a few times . The cheaper hulls seem better to me - 6 or 8 point - doesn`t matter .

4. dennis (nj)

dennis (nj) Guest

I see no difference with my loads . Breaks targets when your on . 700X is listed in my book for 20 ga .

5. bigclown

bigclown TS Member

Bob Ks recommendation is very good...actually, many use slightly less - 15 gr. of Universal - little slower velocity but lower pressure. This is the load some of the top skeet shooters use for 20 ga. when using 20s in the 12 ga. event, as well as the 20 and doubles events. Ed

6. bigbore613

bigbore613 Active Member