1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Reloading Question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by grntitan, Mar 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

I'm a new member here but have reading and gathering info here for several years now. I started shooting trap four years ago but have been wingshooting for 30+ years. I used to reload with my dad whom died 10 years ago and took all his info with him. I have been reloading again lately with his 600jr. I just do a basic 2 3/4 dram and 1 1/8 shot. My question is, how many grains is going into each load? I'm using a number 1 die and 7 1/2 shot. What if i change to 8 shot? Will that change the grain number? Excuse my ignorance but i'm purely reloading on what i remember, and my memory is tapped out. Thanks in advance............Matt

2. jbrucejr

jbrucejr Member

Matt

I normally dont post something worded quite this strong - but please consider my words with care.

All I can say is you should STOP until you get hooked up with soneone that reloads that can help you understand powders, bushings, drop weights, hulls, wads, primers, crimp........

You could buy a good reloading book, but hands on help is best.

Just loading "from memory" and not understanding FULLY what is going on is a good way to blow up a gun and hurt or even worse kill yourself or others.

John

3. Recoil Sissy

Recoil Sissy Well-Known Member

Matt:

STOP whatever you're doing and for heaven's sakes don't shoot any (or any more) of what you've loaded.

Your note makes it clear you need some real help. Far more help than anyone can realistically share in a post on this forum. If you don't have a friend at a local club you can ask, send me a private message and I'll get you started.

sissy

4. grntitan