1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Reloading Question

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Pugs, Dec 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pugs

Pugs TS Member

OK, here is the situation: I've been reloading the same recipe for close to 40 years now with good results but now that I have more time on my hands (semi-retired) I have time to look at things more closely. A long time ago when I started reloading I was given a recipe by an old timer that was supposed to be the most like a AA 1 1/8 standard load. I've been reloading on a MEC, first with a 650 and about ten years ago switched to a 9000g. A short while back I was at an industrial auction and bought a digital scale with the intent on using it in my reloading.

Recipe:
    Shot: 1 1/8
    Powder: Red Dot
    Wad: AA or Claybuster equivalent
    Primer: Win 209
    Mec bushing: #32
    Hull: AA or more recently Rem STS (don't like the new AA)

The reloading chart (came with loader from MEC) claims the #32 bushing will drop 17.7 powder, my scale weighs it at 16.9, BUT the bushing chart on the MEC website says that a #32 bushing drops 19.2!!!.

Any comments from a more experienced/knowledgeable reloader would be appreciated.

Thanks

2. zzt

zzt Well-Known Member