1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

reloading ,opinions wanted

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by melbournemike, Jul 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. melbournemike

melbournemike TS Member

I've been reloading off and on for close to 20 years,I reload to save money and tailor a light kicking load. I've been using redot for all of my reloads for 20yrs,I use 16.5 gr RD for all my trap loads 1oz or 1 1/8 the least expensive wad I can find ,lately claybusters cb15 I think and never have any problems i interchange wads and primers frequently.My question is with 16.5 RD is a light load of powder does it make any differance about the other components? Is there a combination that can drastically increase pressure ? I'm not looking for increased performance ,my shooting is too erratic to blame my loads.

2. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

You have conducted a 20 year test with good results. Don't stop now. HMB

3. Pull & Mark

Pull & Mark Well-Known Member

Mike, You really do need to find a listed load with the components you are/or want to use!!! If you are useing Red Dot powder go to Alliantpowder.com and look up reloading and find correct powder drop for your hulls,primers,powder,wad and shot drop. I take it you are already weighting your powder drops if you know you are dropping 16.5 grains right now. that sounds OK to a tad light for a one ounce load and very light for the l l/8 oz. load, around l7.5 to 18 sounds better for a l l/8th load. You need to find a load over 8,000 psi but under 10,000 psi for your powder to burn well, especially in cold weather (9,200 psi to l0,000). Don't forget to weight the shot drops as well to find out what you are really dropping there as well. Have fun, stay safe, and Break-em all. Jeff

4. skeeljc