1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Reloading newbe question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by m-man, Feb 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. m-man

m-man TS Member

Hello everybody, I am new to trap and am planning on learning how to reload in a few months, i know i probably wont save any money, but i would still like to do it.
    I am getting familiar with the fact that you have to find the right recipe and get the specific components,

my question was about the FPS rating and the PSI rating,
    what is the goal?, what should i know about these ratings,
    how does altering these characteristics affect your trap game?

also, i remember seeing in the store that you can buy new empty hulls, are they real brands, like you would buy loaded shells, because if they are just random, how do you figure out what components fit, and what amount of powder is safe.

thanks
    (btw, thanks to your guys help, i got a beautiful 1100 trap model for $350)

2. smifshot

smifshot TS Member

you will find good load data at the powder maker's websites. The will tell you how much of what powder will give you certain performance, and which wads and primers you will need.Be sure to get a good powder scale to weigh your powder drops. You will neeed to decide how fast you want your loads to go for target-breaking and recoil. Most reloaders will advise you use Remington STS or Winchester AA hulls. Good luck.....stroker

3. m-man

m-man TS Member

lol, yeah, i came to the forum from Alliant's website, thats where i noticed the psi and fps rating,