1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Reloading help

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Cuky, Aug 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cuky

Cuky Member

Hi I am new in reloading and I would like to get some good ideas. I just purchased new Mec Mark V single stage reloader and I will use Winchester AA plastic hulls and reload 1 1/8 oz. I am shooting just singles now. My question is what powder,primer and wads works good from 16 yard line? Thank You.

2. KEYBEAR

KEYBEAR Active Member

You will hear alot of stuff but just keep it simple . Any of the old stand by powders will work fine . Red Dot - Clays - green Dot the list is long .

Do you have a manual if not buy one also a scale all loads need to be weighed .

Loading Winchester AA,s get a replacement wad for the AA hull (Clay buster)

Load a good light singles shell around 1145fps under 10000 # psi .

Have lots of fun .

ALF

3. gary0920

gary0920 Member

You had better start with what you are able to lay your hands on right now. Hook up with someone at your club that reloads and find out what they are using and where to get supplies. Primers and powder are at a premium. Grab any primers you can get a hold of. Red dot, clay dot, 700x, clays, E3, promo are all great for the lighter loads. Depending on how much shooting you are doing, 1 1/8 oz is wasting a lot of shot. Drop down to 1 or even 7/8 oz. You will not drop any birds because of less shot and may pick up a few on the reduced recoil. Each manufacuter has a reloading web site that will tell you what to load with with the various components. Get a small scale and check your charges. Good luck and have fun.

4. powderburn

powderburn Member

Hey!