1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Reloading Costs

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by swatman201, Jan 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. swatman201

swatman201 Member

I am new to Trap shooting and hear alot of the fellows talking about reloading. What is the average cost to reload 25 #8 trap loads. I buy loads from a retailer here in S. Florida, at about $60. a flat. I recently retired and plan on shooting alot more. Just attempting to figure out if it is worth it for me to reload.

As always, thanks for your help.

Joe Isnardi

Big Pine Key, Florida

2. likes-to-shoot

likes-to-shoot Well-Known Member

Here is a calculator to figure your reloads.

In all fairness keep in mind if you use name brand quality components compare them with the same name brand premium shells. By the same token if you use after market components compare them to less quality shells.

Bill

3. Shooting Coach

Shooting Coach Well-Known Member

I reload for several reasons.

First, I have reloaded since the late 50's, and enjoy the art. I can load high performance ammo to lower pressures than what factory ammo generates.

Second, I can load ammo at least as good as anything I can buy for less money. I do not load ammo comparable to promotional ammo. I load ammo as good as or better than premium target ammo.

Third, I can load ammo that is not commercially available.

Fourth, I do save money on loading.

Fifth, right now, since I maintain loading supplies, the ammo shortage does not affect my shooting.

I DID say I enjoy loading.

4. DONNE

DONNE Member

Big Pine Key ?

Heck , I'd be Fishing and not reloading ....

5. Shoot n Holler

Shoot n Holler Active Member