1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Reloading .223- Where to start

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by skeet_man, Nov 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skeet_man

skeet_man Well-Known Member

Just purchased a Remington 700 Varmint .223 yesterday. 26" heavy barrel, 1-12 twist. It is the ADL model, but I've already purchased the BDL trigger plate, and will switch stocks as soon as I can find one I want at the right price.

I'm completely new to centerfire, so please bear with me.

Anyways, anybody got pointers on where to start as far as powder and bullets for reloading for this caliber and twist? I did a little searching today and didn't really find any factory ammo to my liking in a reasonable price range. The cheapest non-steel cased ammo that was better than what I'd call "blaser grade" I could find would be $14ish for 20 rounds.

I already have all the tooling I’ll need to reload .223 from when my brother was reloading it. I’ll be loading on a single stage, but for the volume I’m planning to shoot, that will be a non-issue.

From what I've surmised going a little research online, Sierra MatchKing 52gr w/ Hornady H335 is a good starting point. Doing some calculating, it looks like I can load these for about $10/20 using virgin brass, and it drops down to half of that if the brass is reused, so it seems like a real no-brainer to reload (even better savings than reloading shotshells).