1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Reloader Newbie Question

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by rohitdean, Sep 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rohitdean

rohitdean TS Member

Hi All,

I have come across an opportunity to buy a used MEC 600 Jr. 12 GA in good condition. I believe it is a pre- '82 model but I have yet to confirm it. Now I am completely new to reloading. I shoot 2 boxes of shells a week (on average). Since I have got excellent advise on this forum in the past, I will pose these questions to my fellow trapshooters.

1. Would this be something you would recommend to a total reloading newbie? I am a little mechanically inclined and can follow simple directions but I am not a machinist or a mechanical engineer.

2. The asking price is $50.00. What should one expect to pay for something like this? I know this is a loaded question but I would like to hear some opinions about this.

3. Due to the resizing mechanism on these things (ring vs. grabber) will I be frustrated after my first couple of hundred loads or after my first couple of thousand loads or is this not a consideration at all?

4. What are some other considerations for this reloader or for any first reloader for a complete newbie - like purchasing a separate super sizer, weighing scale to calibrate the powder bushings and shot charge?

5. Should I save more money for something like a Grabber or a 9000G?

I know there are some MEC and some P/W or other brand owners out there, I would like to hear from all camps about their opinions.

Thanks in advance for your inputs to help me make this important decision.

Sincerely

Rohit S. Dean

2. JCS

JCS TS Member

If you only load 2 boxes per week, any loader will do just fine, as long as it functions OK.