1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

RELOADER FOR 28GA.

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by MCKJR, Feb 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MCKJR

MCKJR TS Member

I WON A BERETTA 28 GA. OVER AND UNDER AND LOVE TO SHOOT IT,BUT THE PROBLEM IS AMUNITION, I DONT KNOW RATHER TO BUY DIES FOR MY HORNADY 366, OR BUY A MEC PROGRSSIVE RELOADER AND KEEP MY 366 SET UP FOR 12 GA.. A.A. SHELLS FOR 28 GA ARE ABOUT $12BUCKS HERE.I WOULD LIKE TO HEAR FROM SOME OF YOU GUYS AND YOUR RECOMENDATIONS.---JIM MCKEE---SORRY ABOUT THE CAPS

2. skeeljc

skeeljc Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

I have a MEC Sizemaster in 28 gauge. It makes excellent shells but is a bit on the slow side.

I have a Hornady 366 in 28 gauge. Works pretty good (I have 12 gauge and 20 gauge 366's too). The wad insertion station does not allow enough room as it occasionally folds a pedal in. The shells do not always drop through the hole in the platen at the end of the cycle.

I just purchased a set of 28 gauge tooling for my Ponsness/Warren 900. It does a much better job than the Hornady 366.

You should try the Downrange Pattern Control PC28 wads. This is the best wad I have found for loading both old and HS AA hulls. The petals are always in good shape and they never catch on the wad ram.

Jim Skeel

3. JPM

JPM Member